Sindh Assembly Members Sworn In Amid Protests from GDA and JUI

Sindh Assembly Members

A new party position is underway in the National Assembly, how many members of which party?
The dispute in the PML-N over the inclusion of MQM-supported members in the National Assembly
Stages of government formation, stability in the value of Pakistani rupee against the dollar.

Members of the Sindh Assembly have taken the oath

Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani of the Sindh Assembly has administered oath to the unelected members. Today, out of 168 members, 147 took the oath in the assembly. Among them, there are 114 unelected members from the Pakistan Peoples Party, including Nadir Magsi who participated in a jeep rally, while Jam Mahtab Dahar and Nisar Khuhro abstained from voting in the Senate, hence they didn’t take the oath today.

There are 36 members of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement in the assembly. According to Urdu News, 9 independent, three GDA, and one member from Jamiat-e-Islami didn’t take the oath.Decisions on three specific seats by the Election Commission have not yet been made, while elections have not taken place for two general seats.

At the beginning of the session, Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani also took the oath himself. Afterward, the members took the oath in Sindhi, Urdu, and English languages. The schedule for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker has also been issued, with their election expected to take place on Sunday, while the election of the Assembly Leader is anticipated on Monday.

Polling booth established for election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker in Punjab Assembly

Punjab Assembly
Punjab Assembly

Two polling booths have been set up for the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker in the Punjab Assembly. The Secretary of the Punjab Assembly has stated that the Assembly Secretariat has finalized arrangements regarding the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Privacy has been ensured by putting curtains around both booths.

Sindh Assembly session begins, several political concerns protesting

The session of the Sindh Assembly has commenced under the presidency of Speaker Agha Siraj Durrani. Today, the newly elected members will take their oaths. Nominee for Chief Minister, Murad Ali Shah, has also arrived at the Sindh Assembly. The session started with a delay of 38 minutes.

On the other hand, several political workers of the Jamaat-e-Islami, PTI, JUI (F), and GDA who were protesting outside the Sindh Assembly have been taken into custody.Opposition parties, including GDA, PTI, Jamaat-e-Islami, and JUI (F), are staging protests.

Under which law we are not allowed to enter the city? JUIF

Sindh Assembly Members Sworn In Amid Protests from GDA and JUI
Sindh Assembly Members Sworn In Amid Protests from GDA and JUI

Due to the protest by the workers of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (F) on the Karachi-Hyderabad Motorway, traffic has been disrupted.Under the leadership of JUI Sindh’s Secretary General, Allama Rashid Mahmood Soomro, the workers are staging a sit-in at Karachi Toll Plaza.

Allama Rashid Mahmood Soomro stated, “We want to protest outside the Sindh Assembly. Peaceful protest is our constitutional right. Our rights are being snatched away.”
He further added, “The IG Sindh should tell us under which law we are being denied entry into the city.”

Arrangements have been made to deal with the protesters, Agha Siraj Durrani

Speaker of the Sindh Assembly, Agha Siraj Durrani, has stated that they will not tolerate any insult to the assembly. In a statement, he said arrangements have been made to deal with protesters. He mentioned that the election for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held tomorrow. On the other hand, Chief Minister nominee Murad Ali Shah said, “We will take an oath even if people keep protesting.”

Election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker in Punjab Assembly will be held today

The Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be elected in the Punjab Assembly today, for which the Pakistan Muslim League-N and Sunni Ittehad Council have announced their candidates.Members of the assembly will elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker through secret balloting.

For the Speaker position, a competition will be held between Malik Muhammad Ahmed Khan of the PML-N and Malik Ahmed Khan of the Sunni Ittehad Council.For the Deputy Speaker position, a contest will be between Malik Zahoor Ahmad Chand of the PML-N and Riaz, nominated by the Sunni Ittehad Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *